How Do I
Click to Home

Go To Search
Public Art Commission
Mission Statement:
We engage, educate and lead the Council Bluffs community by actively supporting quality public art.


The Public Art Commission was created to foster the creation and installation of public art, review and recommends future locations of proposed public art projects, and to promote public interest and appreciation for public art with the City of Council Bluffs.

The Commission consists of nine voting members as follows:
  • Five At-large members appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council.
  • One member appointed by the Bluffs Arts Council
  • One member appointed by the Parks and Recreation Commission
  • One member appointed by the Dean of the College of Fine Arts at Iowa Western Community College
  • One Architect or Engineer appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council
Members serve three year terms, with a maximum two consecutive terms.

The Commission also consists of two additional non-voting members as follows:
  • The Director of Parks and Recreation and Public Property, Ex-officio
  • Landscape Architect, Ex-officio, appointed by the commission

Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of the month in the Conference Room on the 2nd Floor of City Hall, 209 Pearl Street, at 4 P.M.

Contact Us

To email the
Public Arts Commission,
Please complete & submit 
the correspondence form below

Correspondence Form

City Clerk's Office

Mail correspondence to:
Public Art Commission
c/o City Clerk's Office
209 Pearl Street
Council Bluffs, IA 51503